April is all about poetry – Vol. 1, no. 21

 

 

April abounds with lovers walking down blossoming lanes, holding hands and gazing into each other’s eyes, knowing that they belong to each other.  We all face our own nemesis’, who try to deflate us and destroy our hopes and dreams.They know that they must guard themselves diligently against any obstacles that might be in their paths.  Remembering the fervency of  newly found love and the many obstacles we all face in our lives, here is no. 21 in this series, ‘April is all about poetry.’

 

‘Epitaph: Written too soon’

You thought you had me.

At last

you cooed.

What a coup d’etat

you thought.

Or did you think?

Because you really

didn’t have me,

I wasn’t down,

or cornered

like you planned.

But your plan

went awry.

I rebounded

a Majority of One,

with Jesus as my Lord.

You wrote my epitaph

chiseled it in stone.

But you wrote it

too soon, because

I climbed out

of the hole you dug

for me.

You thought that you

thought, but you

didn’t think.

I know.

Because I was

only a Christian woman

wasn’t I?

I wasn’t supposed

to know these things.

I wasn’t supposed to win.

Was I?

By Janice J. Robinson  © 1995

During the month of April, this writer would like to make available to Chicago poets a place to exhibit some of your poems. Please only submit your own original poems, since you can give permission to publish your work. You can contact this writer at poetess755@gmail.com. Your poems must glorify the Lord God, or His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ or the Word of God. God Bless you in your endeavors.

More at:   http://www.examiner.com/article/april-is-all-about-poetry-vol-1-no-21

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

