April is all about poetry – Vol. 1, no. 12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While April is not the month that we honor our Mothers, yet my Mother loved to garden and she looked forward to getting out of the house every Spring, around mid-April to begin tending her flower gardens.  She also left her earthly house on April 13th to be with her Lord Jesus, her Savior and sprung into her new life.  So this poem was written for her in 1995 as this writer honored her Mother in a public venue at the Poet’s & Writers Literary Forum in Springfield, Illinois as we performed our literary works at Barnes & Noble Bookstore.  There is a truism that is fitting at all times,

            “Don’t give me flowers when I am dead, but give them to me while I yet live.”

 

‘Calyx of My Soul’

 

Cool green protects me.

Soft silk nestles against

my cheek. Sweet perfume

assails my nostrils.  I

never thought of you as

a guardian of my heart,

but an obstacle to growth.

Holding me in, restraining

my freedom

to be me.  But reality

shocks one to inner awareness

and a gentle awakening of

the harsh world

you spared me from.  Too

soon, your calyx fell away

and I was free to experience life in every shadow of

turning, every delicate

nuance, every dissonant

crashing.  Like waves

upon rocks, steadily

wearing away with time.

To you Mother, the

Calyx of my Soul, and

I, in my turn will

form a cool, green protective

shield for my new grown

buds that will one day

bloom into their

sweet maturity.

To you Mother, for the

sweet perfume you

left behind.  To you,

the

Calyx of my Soul.

 

By Janice J. Robinson     © 1995

 

If you are a Christian poet in the Chicago area, at least for the month of April, this writer would like to make available to other poets a place to exhibit some of your poems. Please only submit your own original poems, since you can give permission to publish your work. You can contact this writer at poetess755@gmail.com. Your poems must glorify the Lord God, or His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ or the Word of God. God Bless you in your endeavors.

Leave a Reply

