April is all about poetry – Vol. 1, no. 7

April assures us as we see the trees blossom out in all their beauty that our  eyes have longed to see all winter long, it is a pleasure to view the pink,  white, red and yellows that nature offers up to those who take the time to view  them.  April is National  Poetry Month and their site has an event calendar that you can view to see  if there are any events near you.  So check it out.  Since this  examiner is writing about Christian poetry and trying to post at least thirty  Christian poems for the month of April, here is the seventh addition.

 

‘An Unsuspecting Victim’

 

White walls with gray tile rushes by on a

horizontal plane, whisking me to

my date with destiny.

Visions of faces ensconced in blue caps

in an ice cold, green room, within a sterile

surrounding.  Bright lights are aimed at the  target.

I expect to hear Rod Serling announce

that I’ve just entered the Twilight Zone.

A heavy leather band is locked across my legs,

to prevent any unwanted movement.

A rubber strip that looks like a lasagna  noodle,

is tightly wrapped around

my arm to squeeze all the blood out.

Left arm prepped, held away from my body;

right arm laid out to rest.

thoughts of another crucifixion

come to mind.  Is this how Jesus felt?

I’m told of my impending sleep.

As stinging needles numb the place

where they will insert a tube

of unconsciousness into my vein.

My palm is laid open,

my fingers taped to the table.

An unsuspecting victim of the

razor sharp scalpel, that will cleanly cut

a furrow down my life line.

With no recollection that time has passed,

there is a sudden chemical

awareness pressed upon my brain.

My left hand is now swathed in white cotton,

fingers still orange from a betadine bath.

Pain like liquid fire, scorches up my arm.

I’m given a small measure of what

another man, long ago, once felt for me.

By Janice J. Robinson

copyright 1995

If you are a Christian poet in the Chicago area, at least for the month of April, this writer  would like to make available to other poets a place to exhibit some of your  poems. Please only submit your own original poems, since you can give permission  to publish your work. You can contact this writer at poetess755@gmail.com.  Your poems must glorify the Lord God, or His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ or the  Word of God. God Bless you in your endeavors.

Continue reading on Examiner.com April is all about poetry – Vol. 1, no. 7 – Chicago biblical | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/article/april-is-all-about-poetry-vol-1-no-7#ixzz1t4Bdfudl

Leave a Reply

