April is all about poetry – Vol. 1, no.2

‘In Silent Communion’

Take, Eat!  This is my Body, broken for  you!

I watched as He broke the bread in half,

I did the same with my piece. I raised it to

my lips and began to eat the Bread of Life.

In silent Communion with the Lord that night.

Take, Drink! This is my blood. Shed for you!

I watched as He lifted the cup in blessing.

I did the same with my glass.  I raised it to

my lips to drink in the deep draughts of wine.

In silent Communion with the Lord that night.

A quiet, sweet peace washed over me as my  Lord’s

voice filled my Spirit.  His presence so  real

and keenly felt as He gave to me His body to

eat and then His blood to drink.  We shared a

silent Communion with each other that night.

By Janice J. Robinson

© 1996

One thought on “April is all about poetry – Vol. 1, no.2

Leave a Reply

